Firewall Management

Hello,

I would appreciate any comments on firewall management.

I recently have been faced with the choice between paying for a firewall management service at $1000+ in setup costs and $175 / month there after or deciding on managing the firewall myself.

We have hired some outside contractors to setup our networks and they have built this firewall management service into their proposal, but I am not sure that we necessarily need it and would like to remove it from the proposal to save some cash.

The outside contractors chose the Cisco ASA5510 and the managed firewall service for the box will include:

• security updates in the form of patches, releases and upgrades
  • policy administration
  • event log analysis
  • enforcement point management
  • incident detection

Basically, I am asking, is it worth it? Would it be hard to manage the firewall on my own? I am a programmer with a basic understanding of networks.

Thanks in advance...

Reply to
sickfaichezi
Loading thread data ...

I'm not sure I would trust that service: they aren't charging ENOUGH to be able to do a good job of policy administration, incident detection, and event log analysis -- not unless you are a very small organization whose network is already partly sheltered by someone else's firewall.

Based upon your wording, I would deduce that you have never managed a Cisco PIX or Cisco ASA. If I am correct, then chances are quite small that you would be able to provide the above management services to your company for less than the equivilent of $175 per month (wot, roughly one day's pay per month?), taking into account your startup costs of learning the ins and outs of the device and your startup costs of writing a -correct- event log analysis program.