PING to inside address goes thru translation and timesout

Hi,

I have just installed a PIX 501 and I'm having an odd issue with PING that results in lost traffic. I am a newbie at PIX configuration so it could be a screw up on my part... ;-)

My set up is as follows

PIX 501, outside has one public IP address and performs translations for 2 others

The two inside servers have an address of 10.0.0.51 and 10.0.0.52 respectively. Outside connectivity to these machines via the translation works flawlessly with no packet loss etc..

However when I try and ping these two machines from within my inside network from another device, I receive soemthing like this

Pinging 10.0.0.52 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 10.0.0.52: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64 Request timed out. Reply from 10.0.0.52: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64 Reply from 10.0.0.52: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 10.0.0.52: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss), Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds: Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

With ICMP tracing turned on I noticed the following within the pix

2907: ICMP echo-request from inside:10.0.2.1 to INSIDE_DQ ID=512 seq=42753 length=40 2908: ICMP echo-request: translating inside:10.0.2.1/512 to outside:X.X.X.X/60 2909: ICMP echo-request: untranslating inside:INSIDE_DQ to outside:OUTIP 2910: ICMP echo-request from inside:10.0.2.1 to INSIDE_DQ ID=512 seq=43777 length=40 2911: ICMP echo-request: translating inside:10.0.2.1/512 to outside:X.X.X.X/61 2912: ICMP echo-request: untranslating inside:INSIDE_DQ to outside:OUTIP

Which surprises me that the ICMP echo request is actually getting translated to the outside IP address. I can ping other machines on the inside network with out issue, its just the two machines that have a translation defined for them that have an issue. Also if I add another non translated IP address to the machines they also do not have an issue.