changing pix internal address

Im a complete newby at this PIX business, but understand generic routing etc from a linux view.

I want to change the internal ip address of my pix, moving the subnet it is on, due to a problem where clients VPN in and have the same subnet in their office as we have here (ie.. 192.168.1.x) which causes problems.

I want to reconfigure the pix to be on (eg) 192.168.41.x but not cause an excessive outage.

can I bind two addresses to the pix internal interface as an intrim step? Then adjust the route tables etc to point to the new subnet, then remove the 192.168.1.x subnet from the equation

any detailed thoughts on doing this much appreciated.

Reply to
brian
Loading thread data ...

oh yeah, its a Pix 506e

:^)

Reply to
brian

In article , brian wrote: [PIX 506e]

:I want to change the internal ip address of my pix, moving the subnet it :is on, due to a problem where clients VPN in and have the same subnet in :their office as we have here (ie.. 192.168.1.x) which causes problems.

Just so you know: there are ways around that problem using NAT. Not exactly "trivial ways", but it can be done.

:I want to reconfigure the pix to be on (eg) 192.168.41.x but not cause :an excessive outage.

:can I bind two addresses to the pix internal interface as an intrim :step?

No.

If you have a LAN router with 802.1Q capabilities, you could configure a "logical interface" on the PIX 506E inside interface, which would have much the same effect. But you still have a transitional mess where you have to copy the inside ACL and apply the new copy to the new inner interface, and you have to modify the two ACLs so the two subnets know how to talk to each other, and you have to play games with static or nat0 so the two subnets can initiate connections to each other...