Possible to get CCIE by self study?

I've been an assistant net admin for the last 6 years. I'd like to expand my knowledge, highten my job security and, yes, increase my marketability. The shop that I work in has Cisco products(Catalyst 5509 and a PIX Firewall), but we outsource all of our support. They have no interest in paying for my Cisco training. Is it possible to attain CCIE through self study and practice alone? Has anyone here done that? If so, can you give a poor guy like me some tips? I'd appreciate any info.. Thanks.

-Gerrick

Reply to
GerrickPeters
Loading thread data ...

I've been an assistant net admin for the last 6 years. I'd like to expand my knowledge, highten my job security and, yes, increase my marketability. The shop that I work in has Cisco products(Catalyst 5509 and a PIX Firewall), but we outsource all of our support. They have no interest in paying for my Cisco training. Is it possible to attain CCIE through self study and practice alone? Has anyone here done that? If so, can you give a poor guy like me some tips? I'd appreciate any info.. Thanks.

-Gerrick

Reply to
GerrickPeters

If you have enough money to get hands on the real gear or practice labs sure. There are lots of things in the real world that the CCIE doesnt cover, but if you have some decent experience it should fill in the gaps. Be prepared to give up a year of your life basically. Nights and weekends become lab time, and the month before your labs you may have to take a few days off work to get up to speed. Its that involved. Not impossible but demanding.

GerrickPeters wrote:

Reply to
jw

Thanks for the info.. I understand the need for hands on experience. Like I said, we only have a Cisco switch and a firewall at my shop. How do I go about finding the necessary equipment to work on? I don't have enough money to buy real gear. Where can I find practice labs? Thanks again for the info..

-Gerrick

Reply to
GerrickPeters

Hi Gerrick,