Cable modem recommendation for RCN San Francisco?

Next week I'm moving into a downtown San Francisco apartment building that's wired for RCN. I have ordered the new Mach 7 service, which claims up to 7000Kbps downloads and 800Kbps uploads.

I'll believe it when I see it, but it occurs to me that should such speeds prove real, choosing a particular make and model cable modem to buy (as I'm considering in order to save the $5 rental fee) may be important in a way that isn't so for the more common 1500Kbps or

3000Kbps speeds that I had through Comcast in the Peninsula.

RCN provides a list of compatible modems (), and oddly recommends () the discontinued Toshiba PXC2200 and 2500. Should I go to the extra trouble of tracking one of these down, or can I just buy a Motorola SB5100 or some other model on the approved list and expect to see the maximum possible performance?

Reply to
Yeechang Lee
Loading thread data ...

I am not a network engineer, or anything comparable, but when I worked at RCN, teching cable modem service, we had very good luck with the Toshiba's, and poorer luck with the Surfboards, RCA's, and 3Coms. If you get the Linksys, I believe version 3 has some additional zip, or substantive improvement over ver. 2.