Multimedia

Hello all!

I'm VERY new to the whole home automation field. For the moment, I am just looking at using wall panels to connect to a central PC and play MP3's in any wired room.

Can someone point me to some systems that make this possible. Eventually, I would like to scale up to use the wall panels to control playback of video, but that is a project for another day.

Thanks!

Steve.

Reply to
stevekokx
Loading thread data ...
3 main options:

1) Something like a Russound system with keypads, and J Rivers Media Center on your PC, with the PC connected to the Russound over serial

2) One of those pre-rolled systems, i think squeezebox/slingbox do something like this but i'm not sure.

Neither of those 2 will scale to video, though, so there's:

3) a software-based solution where you use the Russound as above, but rather than keypads use something like a Fujitsu 3400 tablet PC ($160 on eBay) that you wallmount to control playback throughout the house.

My 3400 wallmounted:

formatting link
My Interfaces:
formatting link
An older version of my architecture:
formatting link

Reply to
IVB

Steve, Your questions are very common and speak to a continuing problem with AV/Home Control issues.

"How cheap can I get in? Can I get in cheap and later upgrade?"

There are a variety of ways to go about distributing your PC audio playback throughout your home.

Elan makes some great stuff. The Russound solution is also good. Systems like that are somewhat 'closed' in that they don't allow for much customization and upgrading.

The question is how far do you want to take this? I find that most people don't have any idea of the level of control you can have. Also, some people want to control too much and the system gets impracticle and expesive fast.

what I'd do is sit down and brainstorm about the things you wish to control and write them down. Then look around and see what systems will do or can expand to do what you want.