Signal Seeker

outrageous! :-)

Reply to
bryan
Loading thread data ...

At least he sent you a check, that's a positive note. Thanks for something "to hang our hat on" regarding this product. I'm not sure why you don't write in all caps and use terrible grammar, but I think you really are one of Ed's customers regardless.

Reply to
Rôgêr

Subject: Signal Seeker

Ed Williams wrote on April 22, 2005:

I am fairly new to WiFi use and am not equipped for doing technical tests like measuring gain, but here are some practical observations.

I purchased one of his 5" x 6" units in March. His advertising calls the Signal Seeker an "extreme range" device, and claims that it performs better than a can antenna. I have a homemade cantenna connected with a 5' pigtail cable to a Belkin F5D7000 client card. On the same computer, my cantenna/card combination consistently outperformed the Signal Seeker, the cantenna giving stronger signal and faster data transfer. In one location, the cantenna made a usable connection to a distant site that the Signal Seeker detected but wouldn't connect to. I also tested the Signal Seeker against a Netgear WG111 USB wireless dongle adapter (with no enhancing reflector), using the same USB cable. In any particular place, the Signal Seeker performed only modestly better than the unassisted Netgear adapter, and I was not able to get the Signal Seeker to make a usable connection where the Netgear WG111 would not. Comparing the Signal Seeker's performance with the performance of a Tenda USB wireless adapter, similar to the Netgear one, gave similar results. This is not what I would call "extreme range."

Details: At one location where I can get usable connections with the three devices listed below, placing each one successively in the same spot and aimed toward the access point, I ran the online download speed test at

formatting link
Below are numerical results (each result averaged from five successive tests, rounded to the nearest integer):