Why Shutting Down Cell Service Is Not Just Against The Law, It's a Really Bad Idea

Why Shutting Down Cell Service Is Not Just Against The Law, It's a Really Bad Idea

By Harold Feld August 23, 2011

I suppose I am really a telecom lawyer at heart. My reaction to the news that the Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) police shut down cellphone networks in a number of stations on August 11 had nothing to do with democracy, the First Amendment, Tahrir Square, etc. With all deference to the importance of these concerns, my reaction was WHAT DO YOU MEAN THESE IDIOTS MESSED WITH THE PHONE SYSTEM? From my perspective, and the perspective of traditional telecom law, BART could just as well have turned off the local central office and all this chatter about whether or not BART is a public forum is just a distraction.

Obviously, however, no one at BART thinks of cell phones as the phone system. In BART's open letter explaining what they did and why it was cool, BART focuses on the First Amendment /public forum issue and completely skips the fact that they shut off a phone system. Mind you, I suppose I can't blame them - much. A number of folks are asking if there is a right to cell phone service as if this were a novel question rather than something settled by decades of telecom law.