VLANS and subnetting

Hi all. I am new to VLAN's. I have a requirement, and I want to know whether it is technically possible to do.

I have a link coming over Cat6, from ISP to my switch. Network

10.1.23.0 / 24

I have few switches in my premises. cisco 3560, 2960.

For certain of my applications, I need to create seperate VLAN's.as i understood, every VLAN has to be a seperate subnet. Could I subnet the existing network of

10.1.23.0 into multiple subnets. / 28 or / 30 according to my needs internally, and create seperate VLAN for each subnet, and they will still talk to the ISP core switch as it were a / 24 network. I could do this and get it to work if it was purely for LAN purposes, however, the Core switch of ISP links me to my WAN (remote networks 10.1.1.0 ~ 10.1.22.0, 22 locations ) ..

each IP in this network needs to talk to every other network, and the vice versa. I know that if i do not subnet the network, it works fine as a single VLAN.

Is there any way that I could have multiple VLAN's and still have connectivity to and from my other networks, using same subnet or a subnetted subnets ??

Thanks in advance

Techs

Reply to
tech.support.b
Loading thread data ...

VLANs should be thought of, from an IP perspective, as if they are separate Ethernets. Which means, if you have multiple VLANs and each one is a different IP subnet, you will need an IP router (layer 3 switch) to tie them together. Just the same as you'd do with multiple different physical Ethernet LANs (or catenets, to be precise).

So the first question is, is the box that ties you to the ISP a VLAN- aware router? Or is it just a layer 2 switch? If it's just a layer 2 switch, you will need to add a VLAN-aware router in your premises. This would be a router which undertands that the internal Ethernet connection is meant to represent multiple VLANs, and the router will then route IP packets to the correct VLAN according to its routing table.