WEP - how easy is it to defeat?

I am a newbie, so pls be gentle ... :-) How easy is it to defeat WEP? From reading the the news traffic in this group it seemed that many people are having trouble with WPA (PSK?) so I have not gone with it, yet. Currently I am only enabling WEP (

10-digit hex network connection) and SSID hidden/not broadcast. Is there a tool that people use to sniff un-encrypted wifi signal and extract this network login key or something like that? I think it would help other newbie too if someone can give info on how these things are hacked. Thanks.
Reply to
cmdrdata
Loading thread data ...

ok, here's my setup and help me understand if I am at risk: two laptops on wifi, both are mostly "off" when not in use (hibernate or standby). My desktop (hard wired 10BaseT) is also powered off when not in use. Shared printer connected to the router is always on, and I live in the suburb. Nothing else is shared between these PCs. However, my DSL is always connected to the internet. Is this a high risk setup with just WEP?

Another question: When I bring my laptop in the car, I can drive around and see many wifi signal with 50% says unsecured, and some of them have SSID=default. So If I stopped in a parking lot and connect to this network to access the internet using someone's unsecured wifi network, is there a law against that yet (I am sure there will be one soon).

Reply to
cmdrdata

I don't know specifics on the subject (a google search would probably be enlightening), but there is software available which can break a WEP key in a very short time if there is sufficient traffic (say a minute?).

Not broadcasting the SSID is worthless as is filtering MAC addresses.

WEP is fine for preventing someone from inadvertently connecting to your network, but not for security.

If you don't want someone to connect to your network, use WPA or WPA2 with a good, long passphrase (one that is not easily discovered with a dictionary attack).

Reply to
Jerry Park