Weird dates and time stamps on old Linksys WAP11...

Hello!

I have an old Linksys WAP11 (Instant Wireless Network Access Point v2.6) with its firwmare v1.07, April 16, 2003 (latest one I saw) that I have been using for years (9/2003). I don't use it all the time. I do turn it off (when not used like when going out or whatever) and on a lot though.

I just noticed tonight on http://192.168.0./log.htm showed:

1: Thu Jan 01 1970 00:00:0-14049 System Start 2: Thu Jan 01 1970 00:00:0-13989 Wireless PC Connected Mac: XX-XX-XX-XX-XX-XX Current Date/Time :

I don't recall seeing the dates and times like them. I hit Clear Logs, it rebooted(?)/locked up?, and my WAP forgot its static IP address I set (couldn't connect or ping it). I thought I broke it, so I resetted it with a paperclip in its reset hole. Then, I was able to get back into its assigned IP address (DHCP based). I noticed it forgot a lot of settings like SSID, IP addresses, channel #, etc. Other half it still remembers like password, WEP password, etc.

Is this normal to be like this or is it having problem? It is not hot in my room (82 F degrees right now), but it had been the last few weeks in L.A. area, CA :(

Thank you in advance. :)

Reply to
ANTant
Loading thread data ...

its firwmare

(9/2003). I don't use

whatever) and on a lot

I do. What happened is that Linksys hard coded some NTP (network time protocol) servers into the firmware. I think some of them went away about a year ago. Since then, the clock just uses the default date/time as it always fails to update.

Just for fun, I downloaded that 1.07 firmware image and ran it through strings to see if I could find the IP address. I couldn't find it.

Ummm, that's not suppose to happen.

to get back into

like SSID, IP

password, etc.

Well, duh, yes. If you do a hard reset, it clears everything, including the settings, back to the defaults. Did you try powering the WAP11 v2.6 on and off before resorting to a hard reset?

room (82 F degrees