AP access hardware

So, I'm a starving college student, living in an AP rich environment.

However, my laptop antenna, including amps like the Hawking 54G desktop, can't get out of my concrete cellar apartment.

Several folks have offered to share their connection on wifi, but I can't see them (from downstairs). I can't afford my own ISP broadband (or any other, for that matter) subscription, relying on the school or my neighbors for access (thus the gmail address). Having to go out is a nuisance, but I can't see them at home, so that's currently the solution. Makes study/homework and research a nuisance at best.

Is there a way (what equipment needed??) to set up a piece, or pieces, of gear so that my laptop antenna could see said equipment, and said equipment could see those APs, such that I could select from them, and wifi surf, as I can when I'm out of the basement? I'm assuming I'd need some omni antenna(s?) and amplification for distance to overcome my bunker.

Assume for the moment that I can set this up somewhere with power available but it needs to stand alone, otherwise. No connection to my or the other computers or my benefactors' hardware.

Can it be done? Is anyone now doing it? What gear do I need?

Thanks.

Skip

The Society for the Preservation of Tithesis commends your ebriated and scrutible use of delible and defatigable, which are gainly, sipid and couth. We are gruntled and consolate that you have the ertia and eptitude to choose such putably pensible tithesis, which we parage.

>Stamp out Sesquipedalianism
Reply to
Skip Gundlach
Loading thread data ...

PS you can also reach me at skip at engr dot uga.edu

Reply to
Skip Gundlach

... snip ...

Can't help with your problem, however the sig is amusing. You should be aware that all sigs should be preceded by a sig marker, with is a line with exactly "-- " (note final blank) on it.

Reply to
Chuck F.