Houston to China Connection

What do you think? I've got an office in Houston and an office in China. Going to be running 2003 with exchange. Need all employees to be part of the domain for file share and email. Am thinking about doing a couple PIX501's and setting up a site to site VPN with a server at each location, with the Houston box being primary.

5 Users in Houston with 23 in China. Am I barking up the right tree or is would you suggest a better alternative?
Reply to
Rick
Loading thread data ...

Might want to check the license exports to china. I do not think you would be able to use 3DES encryption. Not 100% sure of the license agreement.

Reply to
Chad Mahoney

I have no experience in links to China, so I don't know if it will work, but see the following thread:

formatting link

Reply to
Walter Roberson

formatting link
One thing to be aware of is the effect that the high latency (round Trip Time) has on the applications.

For example Microsoft File Shares are badly affected and I hear that Exchange can be too.

Clearly it depends on what you want to do but if your business depends on largish files or a large number of small files being sent across a high latnecy link you should understand the effect on performance. A good thing to do is to use a simulator such as nistnet to create a model of your proposed network.

There are fixes for these issues but they are not cheap.

Riverbed, Tacit, Cisco WAFS ... Others.

We happen to use Tacit and it is pretty effective for file sharing.

If you are doing your own apps you need to test with the appliances.

Reply to
Bod43

formatting link

VPNs seem to work well most of the time, and high latency doesnt seem to be an issue - a customer has put these in scattered across a few continents on Cisco gear (they use routers, but the protocols are the same).