Can't connect XP workstation to Cisco network

I'm a Cisco novice with a small lab setup in my basement. (1) 2501, (1)

2514, (1) 2507 running variations of 11.1 and 11.2, a few hubs and a Linksys WAP.. I have them routing between themselves and have, at one time or another, successfully used all of the serial and ethernet ports on all of the routers. So I am confident that everything is functional. Obviously, all private addressing.

So, here is my problem. I have a workstation running XP Home and cannot for the life of me get the workstation to talk to any of the routers. Ethernet comes on the workstation and routers. But the routers see 100% FCS errors on the interface.

I have direct connected them to the Ex ports on the 2501 and 2514 and have connected via an external hub. I have connected them to the hub ports on the 2507. I have used straight cables and cross over cables. On 11.2 and

11.2 I can't (or don't know how to) set polity but the 2507 has an auto-polarity setting. No luck.

As I have been able to use all the interfaces cleanly by connecting various routers to them I think it is in my XPHome setup. I am basically setting up the fixed IP address assocaited with the ethernet subnet I am connecting to.

This seemed so basic to me. I'm sure it is something simple...but I'm stumped.

Reply to
GC
Loading thread data ...

Make sure that you are on the same subnet. Get a rollover cable and connect to the routers via hyperterminal. You are able to see the configuration of the routers using a rollover. You would use a crossover to connect a PC to a router.

Reply to
M&MCon

FCS errors usually indicates a bad NIC.

Do you know that the NIC in the Windows PC is functional?

Try setting the NIC to 10-half instead of auto

Reply to
Merv

Also check that infernal XP Firewall (pun intended). Turn it off and check.

Reply to
Joey