Electrically isolating network hardware from dehumidifier: isolation transformer or line conditioner?

Hi. I have a dehumidifier plugged into the same electrical outlet as my DSL router and wireless router. I want to electrically isolate the DSL and wireless units from the on/off switching of the dehumidifier. The dehumidifier has a big electric motor inside of it, and I've read that the on/off action of that motor kicks electrical garbage backwards into the line and can affect my electronics.

I've narrowed my choices down to either an isolation transformer:

formatting link
or a line conditioner:

formatting link
The models I picked out cost about the same. It looks like they cover most of the same ground, but not being an electrician, I'm not completely sure. Which do you recommend?

Thanks. Roger Carlson

Reply to
rogacasa
Loading thread data ...

You most likely do not need any isolation. Your routers have power supplies with big capacitors that will absorb reasonable transients. I lean toward protecting the entire building or home with a transient suppressor at the main power panel.

Reply to
Charles Schuler

it doesn't hurt to put the smallest name-brand UPS you can lay your hands on in front of the DSL modem and router. I was able to use the internet with my laptop for the entire 24 hours of the last big blackout because that's how I was wired.

I had a *big* ups for my desktop system, which I shut down as soon as the power quit. I ran the laptop and the DSL connection off the big UPS for the next day, easily.

Nothing, short of a direct lightning hit, that happens to your DSL router can be propagated to your PC or any other LAN devices.

Reply to
Al Dykes

The isolation xformer won't help. The line conditioner will but you want to plug your electronics into it, not the dehumidifier - this means you can buy a much much smaller line conditioner.