dsl signal only present when phone is live

I have a Teledat 301 modem connected to a network card. The modem is connected to a splitter. I can only get a DSL signal if I press the dial button on my phone. As soon as I dissconnect the phone, I lose my DSL signal. Unplugging the phone from the splitter does not seem to make a difference. If I unplug the phone, I still have a DSL signal, but as soon as I press the dial button on the phone to cut off the dial signal, the DSL connection is lost.Can anyone help? I am using XP. Many thanks.

Reply to
sal
Loading thread data ...

You do know that there's a device that has to be connected between the phone line and the phone, right?

DS

Reply to
David Schwartz

DS, I assume you mean the splitter. Sorry, I'm a bit new at all this.

What I have is a splitter that connects to the phone socket. From the splitter, I have a cable that connects to the phone and another cable that connects to the modem.

All this is wired correctly.

My problem is that the modem is not obtaining a secure DSL connection. (The DSL light flashes continually). The only way to obtain a stable DSL connection is by picking up the phone and pressing the dial/connect button. I then hear a dial tone from the handset. The DSL light then stops flickering and stays on. Hey presto, I have my DSL connection and can log on.

Unfortunately the phone is now unable to take any calls while I am logged on and is instead draining its batter charge.

Any help on this would be appreciated. Many thanks.

Reply to
sal

No, not a device that allows you to connect two devices to the same line, a device that allows you to connect a *telephone* to a *DSL* line. It is a specific device for that purpose, and it is required to prevent the telephone from interfering with the DSL signal.

DS

Reply to
David Schwartz

I see.

I shall get one of these filters then.

Thanks very much for your replies David and William. Much appreciated.

Reply to
sal