Do these numbers sound correct to you?

I recently ordered a SOHO DSL package from a Covad reseller. It was the 1.5M/768k package. My download/upload numbers are currently

160k/70k. I am not an expert on the vagaries of Internet throughput, but something seems horribly wrong to me. Shouldn't these numbers be significantly higher. More like 600k/300k, at least? They have a satisfaction guarantee, so depending on the response I recieve, I may cancel the service. Thank you for your input.

-Vincent

Reply to
animedreamer
Loading thread data ...

wrote

You have to pay attention to the UNITS of measure. LINK speeds are usually quoted in BITS per second (1.5M/768K). Download speeds are usually quoted in BYTES per second (160K/70K). If that is true in your case, multiply your download numbers by 10 to get both measures into BITS and you are right in the ballpark.

Reply to
Ken Abrams

Don't you mean multiply by 8? Not to rant on the subject, but why would anyone purchase DSL, then? When I was on cable at a former residence, I was pulling 550k down and paying less.

Reply to
Vincent

snipped-for-privacy@verizon.net (Vincent) wrote in news: snipped-for-privacy@j33g2000cwa.googlegroups.com:

All network protocols introduce some overhead. Taking the raw bit rate of a DSL or cable connection and dividing by 10 to get an expected byte rate gets you in the ballpark.

Your choice, based on your market. Around here, that's not the case.

Reply to
Bert Hyman

"Vincent" wrote

No, I meant exactly what I said. 10 is easier and I did say "ballpark".

1) It's the only thing available (no cable service) 2) In some markets, it is cheaper. 3) It is not (generally) prone to overload by having too many customers assigned in a neighborhood node. 4) In many markets, the service is better as the Phone Techs. actually know what data transmission IS, as opposed to the cable companies who haven't quite figured it out yet.