XP wireless questions ...setting encryption

Hey all,

I set up a lot of gateways for comcast as a contractor. I am not claiming to be any sort of expert. I am self taught and the company I work for does not have any formal training on the wireless networks. I do not deal with the file and printer sharing part of it, just internet access. I set up the router with the 128 bit wep encryption and thats all they really are requiring.

I have some questions for myself though.

1- I put in the wep key when I try to connect with whatever wireless computer. I then go to the properties and also paste the wep key in the two places there. I keep the option of "shared" instead of open. I also uncheck the "enable 802.1x authentification". Then usually hit "ok" and then get out of the menus. I will often reboot the pc in question and connect to make sure all is well. Should these steps be taken? Are they correct for a minimal setup with encryption enabled? Why is it sometimes the wep key is not saved in the options menu for the network; I sometimes have to repeat this step twice?

2- What are the minimal steps necessary to make Win 2000 Pro get onto a wireless network (assuming the network card drivers are installed). Is this the same sort of procedures you would use for Win95 as well? The two look similar in that respect.

The two manufacturers I use are primarily Linksys and Netgear. These are the ones they offer from my company.

Thanks for any tips,

SL

Reply to
SL
Loading thread data ...

Sorta.

802.1x authentication is only used with WPA encryption. It can be used with WEP or no encryption, but requires a RADIUS server to do the authentication. If you have XP SP2 installed, the selection of 802.1x should be automaticly set correctly. However, SP1 and before allow you to turn on 802.1x authentication, when it's not needed, resulting in a disconnect after 10 minutes.