WRT54G can't get IP address from pppoe server

I'm new to wireless I'm trying to hook up a new LINKSYS wirless -g broadband router to my desktop using win xp os. My note book has a linksys card and can see the router butr I can't get the desktop to hook to the internet.

I'm using Bellsouth fast access and a westell 6100 external modem, I don't know maybe I'm not supose to be trying pppoe, is there a way to use automatic???

I've gone through the setup that comes on the CD and I also went through the simple setup that came with the paperwork.

Any help would be appriciated

thanks

zilla

Reply to
tdubya
Loading thread data ...

Did you turn the modem off, wait a minute and turn it back on? I have the same setup and it works fine, but the modem has to reset when switching from your machine to your router.

Reply to
Tom Scales

Yes, I turned it off and it didn't help, when I go to the linksys status page it still says no connection.

Your us>Did you turn the modem off, wait a minute and turn it back on? I have the

Reply to
tdubya

And you've put your Bellsouth userid/password in and clicked connect? It won't connect automatically the first time.

Reply to
Tom Scales

Reply to
tdubya

OK, here is some new info based on your westel and bellsouth:

The BellSouth Westell modems are specific models made exclusively for BellSouth FastAccess. They are physically and functionally different from retail Westells (or any model designed for use with other ISPs) and the firmware between them are not compatible and can not be interchanged. Built in PPPoE client for connectivity to ISP. -Does not require third party software such as Enternet, RASPPPoE, WinPoet, XP, etc. PPPoE Passthrough capabilities. If you are using a separate PPPoE client the modem will allow the other PPPoE client to negotiate the session transparently. Section Section 2 for more details. Full NAT (Network Address Translation) capabilities Built in DHCP Server (Default Modem IP - 192.168.1.254, Subnet Mask -