WRE54G Wireless Extender -- Any tips?

WRE54G Version 3. Can't tell what the firmware is because I can't HTTP to

192.168.1.240. I've tried a number of ways to get this thing to work, and when I get it working, it doesn't work for very long before it goes completely brain dead and I have to start all over again. When it works, it does a good job of boosting the signal, but only to a very limited range -- not more than 20 feet. Before I elaborate further, should I just return this for something better? Or does anyone have experience with it that could help me?

Thank you.

Reply to
The Walrus
Loading thread data ...

Hmmm, Ever tried a different power adapter for it?

Reply to
Tony Hwang

It comes with two -- one for a rack mount and another for straight in the outlet. When I use the one that plugs straight in I get no signal at all. I am finding that if you put a wireless router or an extender right up next to a wall the signal goes to nothing. I'm still learning this stuff. I still don't know shit.

Reply to
The Walrus

"The Walrus" hath wroth:

Welcome to the joy of wireless incompatibility. Wireless repeaters (also known as range extenders) are not clearly specified in the

802.11a/b/g specifications. The result is considerable creativity among chipset vendors and manufacturers. Incompatibility is epidemic and none of these repeaters work with every possible wireless access point or wireless router. In general, the repeater has to use the same chipset as the wireless access point or wireless router. Since you didn't mention what other hardware you have, I can't offer any info on this.