Wirelss built-in... need card?

Hi.

As I am new to the wonderful world of wireless internet, I apologize in advance for what may be a rather rudimentary query.

I'm a single mom and have a hard-wired network setup that is working fine, but as my daughter is now the proud owner of a new laptop, I would like to switch things over to wireless.

The laptop literature states that it has built-in wireless... 802.11 b/g. Now comes the question... With a wireless router, will I need an add-on card to receive the signal or will the built-in 802.11 b/g do the job? If a card is not required, will the built-in work with any router (Linksys, D-link... etc.)? At school, how will my adughter connect to the wireles system (or any other external system)?

One other thing, to avoid any (possible) conflict, would I have to remove the existing hard-wired router software (at home) or can it just stay there should I ever again need to fire it up?

I realize these are a lot of questions, and as such, I thank one and all for your time, effort and assistance.

-Danielle.

Reply to
l_etoile
Loading thread data ...

When you get a wireless router, be sure that it's b or g, preferably g, which is faster. It will have "wired" ports on it as well, which you can plug your PC into exactly like the current router, if you're using one. If not, you connect your modem to the router, then plug your PC into the router. If the router is set to broadcast, your daughter's laptop will pick up the signal. The wireless routers in public places are set to broadcast as well, so she will be able to pick up those signals as well. Sometimes the built in cards are not to powerful, so if she finds this to be the case, she can get a pcmcia card that would be more powerful

Reply to
RBM

l snipped-for-privacy@yahoo.com hath wroth:

No card is required. The 802.11b/g card inside your laptop will do both transmit and receive.

Yes. That's the nice thing about standards. Anything that says