wireless problems

ok this is my first time on this site and i think this is probably the right forum if its not then im sorry =(

this may be kinda long but this is the whole story and i dont have computer smarts by any means so please bare with me..

ok a couple weeks ago my computer was working fine, i was only using 1 computer i was on dsl bla bla bla not my problem.

so i just moved a couple days ago with my good friend and i hooked up my computer in my room and hes got his in the living room.. so i have everything hooked up and im connected wirelessly.. the connection says im fine its at about a medium/goood range level..

but when im bored i like to play games.. 1 particular game i like to play is a game called counterstrike. when it opens theres a list of about 1000 servers you can choose from and it usually ranges from about

10ping - 300 ping

ping = lag which im sure u no.. when i was connected by myself at my old place i had no problems with lag whatsoever everything was fine internet was fine

but now connected wirelessy i notice that when i play im getting constant lag and im getting kicked out of the game at first i thought it was a firewall but i dont have any running..

now ive heard from different people that when your run wirelessly its only truly a hassle when your both on at the same time but my roomate is hardly ever on his computer so im basically on mine alone so everyone said i shouldnt have a problemm... i dont no how to explain this any better because my username says it all i am probably the most computer retarded person on this planet. but i guess basically what im trying to say is. could it be bad internet connection or... blahhhhhhhhhhh i dont noo

im sure theres hundreds of reasons why its not working based on the useless information ive given you buttt if u can throw some maine ones at meeee id apreciate it..