Wireless intrusion - WPA and TKIP cracked with ease

Hi all,

I'm a noob to this forum, but I've been working in the IT industry for

10 years or so. I'm not particularly experienced with wireless, just using it at home, but I'm learning fast.

So, I have a problem with one of my neighbours hacking my wireless connestion and downloading massive amounts of data, using a spoofed MAC. I have a belkin modem-router which is using WPA and TKIP/AES, and the intruder just waltzes through the secutiry like it's not even there. I've hidden the SSID, changed all the settings, and he just gets straight back in. I've even disabled wireless client access on the router and he STILL got in :mad:

I'm less bothered about stopping him now, and more bothered about finding out who it is so that I can set the cops on him, because this is costing me money and a lot of time. I've reverted to a non-wireless router in the meantime since there is nothing more I can do with the wireless.

Does anyone know of any counter-intrusion tools that I could use to find out what he's doing, or even counter-hack his machine? I think it's fairly well firewalled.

Thanks for any help!

Mikki x

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
MikkiJayne
Loading thread data ...

MikkiJayne hath wroth:

If you've survived that long, and are still sane, permit me to congratulate you.

High speed learning doesn't work. In order to understand something well, you need to tear it apart, make a huge mess disecting the contents, analyze the entrails, and put it back in working order. It's all part of "Learn By Destroying(tm)."

It takes more than just a spoofed MAC address. In addition, if they have borrowed the MAC address of one of your machines, there well be considerable packet corruption when BOTH machines try to connect.