Wireless IN from ISP to wired OUT inhouse - possible?

I'm new to wireless and have a different need than typical home or apartment dweller.

Everything I've seen for consumers is designed for a wired broadband input that routes wireless to various pc's. I'm looking to do the opposite.

I need to have a sort of wireless "base station" that would be my access to a wireless network. Then to that base (a router I guess) I will run wired/LAN connections to a 3 or 4 pc's. Or I could run wired to a couple and have short range wireless to another 1 or 2.

Possible?

The exact setup will be on a boat that receives wireless broadband from the marina. W/in the boat I can lay cables to a couple of cabins. It would be nice to be wireless from the "base" to a laptop in the cockpit, but I could run a cable there, too.

Into my "base station: I would also plug in my internet telephone.

Reply to
HA
Loading thread data ...

Your problem is that you will probably need a directional antenna on the boat to get any kind of range from your WISP. Since gyro stabilized WiFi antennas aren't particularly common, you aren't going to be able to get the connection to the boat. Distributing on the boat is no problem as an omni antenna will give you the coverage.

Of course if money is no object, you can look into Inmarsat satellite service or have someone build a custom gyro mount for you.

Reply to
Clark W. Griswold, Jr.

Actually, I do need the internet connection. That's the major point.

I want to have wireless broadband in to my boat. I am calling the receiver/router a "base station". I will then either run cables to my fixed pc's, and if possible have short range wireless from the "base station" to a laptop. IOW, having a wireless receiver/sender into which I can plug a router so that I may access the internet from all of the pc's on my in-boat network is the essential desire.

Reply to
HA