Wireless for RV campground

I need to install wireless internet access for an RV campground. The area that needs to be covered is approximately 750'x350'. This is an aerial view of the campground.

formatting link
many trees, but like I said, lots of RVs.

I work in the IT field but have no experience putting in wireless outdoors. Coverage is part of the issue.... how many WAPs or outdoor antennas to use, etc.

But as you can see from the photo, there is a paved road all through the area that I need to cover. I don't want to have to get into a situation that we have to run conduit/cabling under that road.

Internet access will originate from the clubhouse shown in the pictures. I could run an underground cable down one side of the campground, for a WAP or antenna. And then see what kind of coverage I get in the other side of the campground.

But my question is; what do I have for options, in getting the signal to the other side of the campground? Without tunneling under the paved road. I've heard of devices, for inside a house, that uses the electrical wiring to extend a wired connection. Can that be used outdoors? There's power all through the campground.

Is something like a WiFi extender a possibility for outdoor use?

Any help or input is appreciated. Thanks

Reply to
JohnB
Loading thread data ...

We (my wife and I) stay at a RV park in Silver City, NM where I do most of the work on the WIFI system. It consists of a D-Link DWL-2700AP access point mounted on a 20 foot metal pipe at the rear of the Club House. The distance to the furthermost site is probably 700 or so feet. This box is fed via cat5 cable (POE) from a 2Wire DSL modem in the club house.

The lot we were in last year is the greatest distance from the antenna. Our Toshiba laptop connected we ease (as long as we didn't have the metal window blinds closed) from inside the trailer.