Wireless dropouts

Which router was in the "kit"? There are problems with certain models, have you gone to the linksys website

formatting link
and updated the firmware if needed? I was having similar probs on my linksys wrt54g, went to the website, updated the firmware, and it has worked fine ever since.

Reply to
Peter Pan
Loading thread data ...

Newbie here so bear with me...bought a linksys wireless network kit which consisted of a router and laptop wireless card. Installed everything at another location and everything worked great. Brought the router home and now constantly lose connection and am only 10 feet away from the router. I've tried channels 1, 6 and 11 as suggested by Linksys but still no go. I'll boot up the laptop, connects fine...then a minute later it just disconnects. We do have a ADT wireless alarm in the house...could this be interfering? Any ideas as to what else I can try (or buy a different product) to get this thing working consistantly?

Reply to
The other Mike

It does sound like interference in your area. I doubt it is your wireless alarm system as most alarm panels do not operate above the 900MHz freq. Try downloading netstumbler

formatting link
and post what your Signal/Noise Ratio (SNR) is. I originally had the same problem you are stating and ended up having to relocate my AP. works fine now. just a thot, hope this helps.

Reply to
Another Anonymous

Why not turn off the alarm and see if that helps?

Other possibilities include cordless phones, tv senders.

Reply to
Chris Bartram

When it disconnects does it reconnect automatically in a few seconds then disconnect again? Or do you manually have to connect?

Reply to
DLink Guru