Wireless and IE won't mix

Did you have a previous dialup connection on the laptop? In IE look under Tools, Internet options, Connections and check never dial a connection. Just one possibility......

Reply to
Airhead
Loading thread data ...

I'm a newbie at all this wireless stuff and I am having a problem. I just got cable internet and added a Belkin Pre-N router. I have no problems with connecting through my desktop. When I use my laptop with the Belkin Pre-N Wireless card, I can connect but it will not let me use Internet Explorer. I get this message: The page cannot be displayed. I can use Netscape but not IE. Some of my programs won't open in Netscape. Am I doing something wrong? How can I get IE to open? Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

loony

Reply to
loonyhiker

"loonyhiker" wrote in news:V2IZd.5790$ snipped-for-privacy@fe04.lga:

Under IE try disabling Automatic Configuration. Tools - Internet Options - Connections - Lan Settings.

Reply to
Lucas Tam

"loonyhiker" wrote in news:V2IZd.5790$ snipped-for-privacy@fe04.lga:

If you can make a wire connection with the laptop does it do the same thing?

Duane :)

Reply to
Duane Arnold

You might talk to the wizard under tools,internet options,connections,setup. Seeing how you were on a dialup it might be worth a shot, you now connect through a Lan connection.....

Reply to
Airhead

When I make the wire connection, I still can't get IE.

I tried disabling automatic configuration and that didn't work either.

I also clicked never dial up since that is what I had before but that didn't help either.

Anybody have any other suggestions? I'm willing to try anything!

Reply to
loonyhiker

Thank you everyone! I went back today and redid everything that was suggested and it worked! I'm not sure which one of the suggestions worked but something did and now it works! You are all angels! Thanks again.

Reply to
loonyhiker

"loonyhiker" wrote in news:ApUZd.57592$ snipped-for-privacy@fe06.lga: