Why flash Buffalo to dd-wrt?

I'm new at this, and looking to buy my first router. I've found lots of information about how to flash a Buffalo router to dd-wrt, and about what features dd-wrt has, but can't find a discussion of exactly what's wrong with the native firmware of the Buffalos. Can anyone point me to that?

If it matters, I would want the router to deal with bittorrent well, since that's probably the biggest challenge I would present to a router. Well, maybe also some form of VPN, but I don't really know enough about that to say for sure.

Reply to
Peabody
Loading thread data ...

Hi, Then take a look at Asus WL-500G Deluxe router. (Regarding bittorrent) You can download stuffs with PC turned off to a router USM hard drive.

Reply to
Tony Hwang

Nope. There's nothing wrong with the stock Buffalo or Linksys firmware for what is included. It's the features that are missing and the general lack of fine tuned settings in the stock firmware that justifies installing DD-WRT or OpenWRT. I couldn't find anything comparing the features of the stock firmware with the others. However, this might help:

formatting link
compares features among a few of the alternative firmware releases. If you go down the list, my guess is that the stock firmware has less than half the features listed.

That's somewhat configurable in DD-WRT. You want to tinker with the number of connections setting (default=128) and the QoS settings (to insure that your upstream bandwidth isn't monopolized by downloaders). You'll see something like this:

in the log files. However, the best solution is to use a Bitorrent client that controls the number of streams and does not allow the router to overload.