What's the current "best" way to secure a wireless network?

Hi folks, I'm new to wireless, and it seems like the current "best" way to secure my wireless network is to use WPA2. Coming from a "wired" network background, I tend to think the best way to secure a network (at least a hard wired network) is to is to set up a VPN or use IPSec between clients, but I don't know if such an option is available in the wireless arena? From what I gather, it is possible to crack WPA2 using programs that can capture enough IVs, etc.

Anyway, can anyone offer a suggestion on what's the best way, currently, to secure my wireless LAN?

Thanks, Craig

Reply to
Craig
Loading thread data ...

"Craig" hath wroth:

Correct. Once you have uncrackable encryption, all the other security features offer little additional security.

With a VPN, you could run a wide open (un-encrypted) network, and still have adequate security.

802.11 wireless is all bridging. 802.11 wireless packets encapsulate 802.3 ethernet packets. At the wireless level, it's all layer 2 and no IP addresses (except for managment). Therefore, any of the Layer 3 security features (SSH, SSL, VPN, etc) will work with a router that has VPN pass through enabled. There are even wireless routers available that will terminate a VPN in the router (Netgear, Sonicwall, etc).

Wrong. That's for cracking WEP, not WPA. WPA is considered secure with non-dictionary keys longer than 20 characters.

formatting link

Are you sure you want the "best" way or do you want just whatever is adequate for your unstated purpose? The "best" is using WPA2-AES with X.509 certificates for authentication on a RADIUS server, with removable USB dongles, that also support S-Key one time key generation, through an IPSec VPN, and an IDS (intrusion detection sysetem) on the router. Not only will the "best" be uncrackable, it may also be unuseable and slow. Are you sure you really want this?