VERY strange issue

Hi all - to prefix, i work in IT, so know a thing or two about troubleshooting....maybe someone has experienced this before, i'm at a loss:

I have a laptop with WinXP SP2, it's got a Linksys pcmcia adapter and it communicates with my Netgear wireless router. All is good, signal strength is excellent, but suddenly i lose connection (can't ping the router, it times out) -- but still when this occurs the signal strength shows Excellent. To fix it, I pull out the pcmcia card and put back in... this restores my connection. This happens periodically, sometimes many times a day, sometimes it may be okay for a while.

Things I've tried:

1) a different pcmcia card (same model, Linksys WPC55AG v1.1) 2) reinstalling the OS 3) different router (still Netgear, but different brand and at a different location... while i was on vacation at someone else's house) 4) different laptop (I thought the slots may be bad, so swapped with another IBM T30) 5) different wireless settings (i.e. with encryption, without encryption)

I have no metal plates in my head :)

Not sure what else to try... thought about buying a Linksys router just to see if it'll help...

anyone has ideas or seen this issue before?

Thanks so much!

Ben

Reply to
Ben
Loading thread data ...

Have you used a program such as netstumbler

formatting link
to see if there is any near by access points on the same channel that might be causing problems? Also are you near any microwaves or other 2.4Ghz devices such as, cordless phones, video cameras and baby monitors?

Adair

Reply to
Adair Winter

all my phones are 5.8ghz.... I'm upstairs and so is the router... there is a microwave dowstairs... but should that stuff also kill my signal (meaning it wouldn't show Excellent strength) - I still see a signal, just can't ping anymore....

while I was away from my house, I tried different channels.... didn't help, while my dad's laptop didn't have any issues (IBM T41 with built in wireless).