Vendor: "(fake)" MAC: "000000000000" ?

Don't know if it will help, but at work I have a linux samba server running as a service on a Win XP system with a bridged connection. The bridged connection appears as a zero MAC address.

Reply to
Jerry Park
Loading thread data ...

I am running a Linksys WRT54G (firmware v3.01.3) with WAP and MAC filtering. There are two laptops in the house, one a Sony VAIO with a Linksys CardBus wireless adapter and the other a HP Pavilion zt3000 with a built-in Intel

2200BG minicard (driver v 9.0.1.9).

Since my connectivity on the HP has been somewhat flakey (801.11g), I frequently fire up NetStumbler just to see what's up. Lately I have noticed another apparent connection at my same SSID and channel (1), but with the NetStumbler info: Vendor: "(fake)" MAC: "000000000000"

My guess is that the one laptop is just seeing the other laptop somehow as it talks back to the router; but it does make me nervous. Is this normal?

Thanks for your feedback!

~Nemo

Reply to
Nemo Oudeheis

fwiw Distant neighbor here had netgear AP showing in nStumbler and recently changed his mac#'s and now his AP shows as Fake with same ssid name.

Reply to
bumtracks

The assumption is that the O/P is running some version of windoze. Does the command "ipconfig /all" on each box show it's own MAC address?

First three octets "00:00:00:" is a valid OUI - it's assigned to Xerox. However, that block was used for the experimental 3 MHz Ethernet that preceded 10Base5 also known as ThickNet. In theory, the very first Ethernet interface ever made might have been serial number zero (giving the MAC address of 00:00:00:00:00:00), but that was in the mid-late 1970s. There was still a single 3 MHz network at PARC as late as 1995, but I think the last host on that net was shipped to a museum in 1996 or 1997.

A much more probable answer is that all you are seeing with an all zero MAC is that the application can't figure out the address and is giving an empty answer.

Old guy