Unable to obtain internet connection - total novice

Hi all,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to computers. I don't understand any PC terminology so explaining things to me will be relatively difficult unless explained in lamens terms!

I'll explain my problem/s:

I bought a LAPTOP from Ebay (idiot, I know). I didn't read much about it because all that information doesn't mean anything to me anyway. Basically, I later realised it doesn't have a cd-rom. This doesn't bother me as that was not my intention of getting a laptop.

Originally, the wifi worked fine, now all of a sudden it doesn't. I've tried system restore to a date of when it was working and i've considered a reformat. A reformat would be like going to hell and back though due to not having a cd-rom!

It started when I was trying to sign-in to MSN messenger and it would automatically reject me signing in. I rebooted thinking that this is the solution to everything and there-on my connection would say *Acquiring Network Connection* or something along those lines, but never ACTUALLY connect.

I've also noticed I have no IP. I thought every comptuer has an IP when connecting to the internet!

Please help. I'm considering sticking chopsticks in my eyes and slapping myself with a tuna fish! Relieve me of this darn stress!

Regards,

Emily

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
dollface86
Loading thread data ...

Laptops usually have a physical switch to disable WiFi -- find yours, and check it. Easy to bump, and kinda hard to find.

You can get a new, fully-equipped laptop for ~500US$. And, at least with Dell, you can still order one with XP instead of Vista; XP reduces the RAM needed and reduces the problems.

Reply to
Bob Willard

why would anyone recommend getting a laptop or any computer for that matter and offer up XP as a good reason to do so?

Reply to
mr.b