Transmit but not Receive

Hi,

First off let me state that I'm a newbie in RF hardware so my apologies if this is a dumb question. For an experiment I'm conducting I want to be able to transmit two data streams from two WiFi(b) routers at the same time. I realize that they have carrier sense avoidance so that if they are right next to each other they will not transmit at the same time. Is there a piece of hardware (filter, diode? or something?) that i can put between the output of the routers and their respective antennas such that this device will pass the transmit signal to the antenna but not pass any radiation received from the antenna to the routers? The idea then would be that the carrier sense would not come into play as no power would be received from the antennas. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,

Kev

Reply to
kevin.pavin
Loading thread data ...

A circulator would do the trick.

formatting link
formatting link
Rather expensive, sometimes to be found on Ebay.

w.

Reply to
Helmut Wabnig

Thanks for the suggestion, a circulator/isolator is what i need. If anyone has any suggestions on a bargain vendor I'd appreciate it.

Also as a follow up does anyone have a sense as to what the default carrier sense power threshold is on WiFi routers in dBm? I've seen a few isolators so far that range from 20dB to 40dB isolation, my router puts out 20dBm so it would be good to know if one isolator will do the trick. Thanks again.

Kev

Reply to
kevin.pavin

Why would there be a significant problem in the first place.... these aren't CW devices, they are Packetized Spread Spectrum and two devices next to each other, even on the same channel, would not run into each other, due to different spreading code roots anyway..... Hmmmmm, non problem, from where I sit.....

Reply to
You