system intrusion through the internet/wireless internet and computer protection

I am very new to networking stuff, and I want to setup LAN at home. I worry about computer security. For example, if my home machines are connected to the internet, is it possible that hackers can get in my machine's file directories through the internet? I know it is possible, it matters how easy they can do it.

In what situations they can do that, normally they should not able to do that, unless they install some spyware inside the machine, is that correct concept? and what we should do to protect our machines? If I setup firewall and anti-virus, it that good enough?

If my home has wireless setup, will the system intrusion more easier?

please advise. thanks!!

Reply to
jrefactors
Loading thread data ...

Here are four types of important protection for every Internet-connected computer:

1. A firewall, to block access by Internet hackers. Windows XP has a built-in firewall: Service Pack 2 has Windows Firewall, and earlier versions have Internet Connection Firewall. A typical home broadband router also acts as a firewall. I recommend using both a router and Windows Firewall.
  2. Antivirus program.

1. Automatic Windows Update to get patches from Microsoft. If your XP machines don't have Service Pack 2 yet, install it.

2. Antispyware program. Microsoft Antispyware, even though it's still a beta (test) program, is one of the best. Others include Ad-Aware SE and Spybot Search & Destroy.

With a wireless setup, enable the highest level of security that your equipment supports. From most secure to least secure: WPA2, WPA, WEP.

Reply to
Steve Winograd [MVP]

snipped-for-privacy@hotmail.com wrote in news:1126505560.788055.113410 @o13g2000cwo.googlegroups.com:

I'll assume you're using Win XP on some of the machines.

There is also a link for Win 2K too by the same people.

formatting link