Simple port forwarding problem

Hi,

I'm afraid I am a complete beginner at this...

I have a Debian Linux box sitting behind a Linksys WRT54GS wireless router. It is running the SSH daemon listening on port 22. The router is serving IPs under DHCP and the Linux box has an IP of 192.168.1.103. I checked the external IP using one of those 'check my ip' sites and it is 82.xxx.xxx.xxx. Both IP's are still the same, as the Linux box and the router have never been switched off and haven't reset/crashed.

I am able to SSH into the Linux box from any of the computers on the local network (i.e. on the same side of the router).

I have set up port forwarding on the router [Port Start]=22 [Port End]=22 [Direction]=both [Destination]=192.168.1.103 [Enabled]=Yes. However, I get no response when I "Putty -ssh 82.xxx.xxx.xxx". I also get no response from "ping -ssh 82.xxx.xxx.xxx".

I would be very grateful if someone could give me some pointers on how to diagnose the source of this problem.

Many thanks

Jon

Reply to
jrpfinch
Loading thread data ...

On 24 Nov 2006 01:06:53 -0800, "jrpfinch" wrote in :

Check the router log to see what's happening when you try to SSH in from the outside. Your ISP may be blocking port 22. Try a different port.

Reply to
John Navas

Hi, I know this probably sounds silly, but you wont be able to do this from

*inside* the LAN. You might have to ask a friend to do the putty 82.xxx.xxx.xxx from outside your network over the internet. *Then* you will be able to check the logs as John has pointed out.

Regards, Shiv

Reply to
outbackwifi

I have a Linux AS3 and ES4 dual boot server available on a simple Netgear router. I can reach the "outside" address from inside. I have ssh, and some other ports, redirected to the Linux box.

I wonder if the local firewall rules in the Linux box are set to allow ssh access from outside the LAN?

Reply to
dold

On Sat, 25 Nov 2006 17:59:00 +0000 (UTC), snipped-for-privacy@15.usenet.us.com wrote in :