Range question

My home is on a golf course and I would like to be able to use my wireless network at the clubhouse.

I am probably about 500 yards from the clubhouse, maybe a little more. I was looking at the Linksys Wireless-G Range Expander, 802.11g. It seems to work like a repeater. If I put one outside my home and another outside of the clubhouse, would it likely reach? Or is just to great a distance?

Is there another wireless solution other than the Linksys?

Thanks!

Reply to
Shacky
Loading thread data ...

For that kind of distance you'll more than likely need some directional antennas. 500 yds *with unobstructed line of sight* is no problem at all with the right equipment, but with my limited experience with Linksys I can't answer your specific question. I have links working 24/7 at much greater distances using a little higher end stuff.

Reply to
Rôgêr

I'm a newbie at this. Could you give me a little more detail on the "higher end stuff"?

Thanks

Reply to
Shacky

You could get a couple of Linksys wap11s, buy a RP-TNC RF pigtail adapter cable for each (they come in different lengths) but I figured this using about 10 foot on each end. Put your waps inside and mount an antenna outside using the cable. An 8 to 12db directional patch antenna on each end should give you good reception. Run the Wap11 at your house as an AP Client (you wont be able to use it with your wireless stuff at home) and the one at the club as and AP. There are multple products you could use to do this, I dont thing the W G R expander could handle that though. The nice thing about the AP client mode is that you only need 2 devices, if you used bridges you would need 2 bridges and an access point.

my 2 cents

Reply to
Airhead

This is the brand I've used the most:

formatting link
can be purchased from several vendors such as
formatting link