Questions about dual WAN load-balancing routers

I'm wondering how well these devices work for

1. reliability, since apparently loss of one WAN puts all the traffic on the other so no loss of internet access.

1. Bandwidth, does the dual WAN setup result in twice the bandwidth, or put another way, is download speed doubled assuming there's only one user? Or is it simply that 2 uses can each reach maximum download speed on each WAN.

2. Can it be configured so that a particular user primarily uses one WAN and another user primarily the other? Or can individual users be "throttled" by the admin?

Obviously I'm a novice at this, so any help is welcome, including links where I might learn more.

Reply to
Charlie Hoffpauir
Loading thread data ...

Here is a link to a forum link which might may help you.

formatting link

Here is a link where you can find info on how to configure dual WANs to do various things. Scroll down to the advanced tutorial section for the dual WAN stuff.

formatting link

Reply to
GlowingBlueMist

About $60. Make sure you get the v3.0 version or later. I just installed one about 2 weeks ago. Too soon to tell if it's going to be reliable.

Yep, but you can do the same thing with two routers and RIP2. I had one such derrangement between a then fast 1.5Mbit/sec DSL line, and a rather insipid ISDN 128Kbit/sec line. The DSL went down one day, and it was a month later that someone finally bothered to complain that the internet seemed a bit slow. That's what I call seamless fall-back.

No.

No.

No.