Question about statistics

Hello, I'm new to wireless and I'm tryng to see if there are any tweaks I can do either in the client wireless software (SMC/ralink) or in the AP(Actiontec gt704) (I'm running in windows 2000) For now, I've left both set to 802.11 b/g mix.

Typical results I see are about 15-25 % receive crc errors, and on the transmit side 3-10% "frames tranmitted successfully after retry" and 1-5 % "frames fail to receive ACK after all retries" This last statistic seems to drop significantly if I set B/G protection to OFF in the client.

The wireless nic is the SMCWPCI-GM Mimo. I think the Actiontec may be the poorer performer of the two pieces of H/W. It runs very hot and I'm trying to get Verizon to replace it. The distance between the two is about 18 feet.

I'm running 64-bit WEP but no further authentification.

Thanks for any tips. Dave

Reply to
davexnet01
Loading thread data ...

snipped-for-privacy@yahoo.com hath wroth:

You'll get quite a slowdown in maximum speed if you leave the 802.11b compatibilty feature enabled. See max theoretical numbers at:

The good news is that the 802.11b compatibility performance hit only appears when an 802.11b device connects to the access point. The current crop of chipsets seem to be smart enough to ignore unconnected

802.11b packets. No clue if the Actiontec GT704 qualifies.

Retch barf puke etc. That's awful.

Well yes. That's because the access point has switched to 802.11b mode and is seeing all the 802.11g packets as corrupted garbage or noise. It can't decode 802.11g when in 802.11b mode. When operating, my guess is about 25-30% airtime devoted to 802.11b packets, which explains why about 1/4 of the arriving packets require retransmission. This is the way it used to be before the chipset makers cleaned up the compatibility mode.