Problems connecting router and router-as-access point

Hello all,

I'm new to wireless networking, but have experience with wired networks. Just got a cable modem. I only have cable in the living room. My wired network is in the bedroom. I want to wirelessly enable my wired network to the internet.

I purchased 2 DLINK DI-524 (rev. a) routers. Connected router A to the cable modem and hooked a laptop up to it and configured it. It is the DHCP server. Seems to be working fine. Set up the wireless portion with a new SSID and channel.

Connected router B to my existing wired lan using an open lan port. Configured it to use the same SSID and channel as router a. Disabled DHCP per DLINK's knowledge base article (although they STRONGLY suggested not to try to do this then told you how to do it). Router B can ping all the pc's on my network. It cannot ping router A, nor can router A ping router B.

Only router A and any computer attached to router A have internet access. I have also tried bypassing my wired router and connecting my pc's directly to the wireless router b and the same problem persists. It appears that both routers are configured properly, but neither can talk to the other apparently.

Is what I am trying to accomplish possible?

Thank you for your help in advance,

Buck

Reply to
buck.turgidson
Loading thread data ...

No. It's not possible with DI-524 routers.

What you're apparently trying to do is get two wireless routers to act as a wireless bridge. There are devices and protocols that will do this, but the DI-524 is not equiped to do either. Reading between the lines, what you're trying to accomplish is build an extension cord for your cable modem to your LAN. The best approach for this would be to run a CAT5 cable, but it can be done with wireless.