power pass splitter

Hello,

I'm looking at splitters to use on my small aircraft which has two antennas broadcasting video data.

I'm new to RF stuff, could somebody please tell me what 'power pass' means and what it causes to happen?

I'm looking at splitters similar to the first two at

formatting link
if anybody knows of a lightweight option that would be great.

Regards, Adam

Reply to
Adam Chapman
Loading thread data ...

What you're looking at are splitters meant for cable TV reception. Power Pass I believe means the devices will pass DC power to down/up stream devices. I would think, unless you're dealing with extremely low powered transmitters that something like these would be more appropriate.

formatting link

Reply to
Pen

Most of the small quality dividers are not cheap.

formatting link
ZAPD-4 sma that is listed may be worth a look. Weighs 170 gms Data Sheet:-
formatting link

Reply to
LR

At what frequency? You can get power dividers that are fairly narrow band and are optimized for a range of frequencies, or you can get broadband devices that cover a large range of frequencies. Also, what power level are you transmitting? Power dividers have some loss and will smoke if over driven. Also, does it have to be TSO approved?

Is your "small aircraft" aluminum body or fiberglass? If fiberglass, you install the antennas inside. However, that means that the two antennas will "see" each other, which means your antenna pattern will probably be full of nulls and peaks. Power splitting between dual antennas really only works if the antennas are on opposite sides of a a shielded (aluminum) body, and cannot "see" each other.