Passphase/passkey config.

I have a laptop running Ubuntu Fiesty, and has been working well, but with some only intermittent issues. I have a Linksys WRT54g wireless router that I have not configured for security (living in a sparse area). I can connect to the router, but it disconnects on occasion, and then I receive requests for a Passphrase, and then a passkey, neither of which I have configured. Are there default settings for these values that I can change later?

I am new to wireless, and it works great. Would love to have it running all of the time, though!

Thanks, and I can supply any information that may be needed to get this configured properly!

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
plantiful
Loading thread data ...

Let me guess... Is the SSID of your unconfigured WRT54G "linksys"? If so, then you're probably connecting to some other wireless router also with the name of "linksys". It's also possible that you have Ubuntu setup to connect to any available network, so the actually SSID doesn't matter.

The way it works is that your router determines the type of encryption. Your Ubuntu client determines what type of encryption is being offered, and supplies the matching dialog box. If your Ubuntu client is asking for a pass phrase, then some wireless router is advertising that it needs one. Since that's not yours, it must be someone elses.

Set the SSID to something you can recognize. Do *NOT* hide the SSID by disabling the SSID broadcast. Since your disconnects may be due to interference, change your router channel number from the default ch6, to either ch1 or ch11. Set your WRT54G to WPA or WPA2 encryption and setup a suitably cryptic pass phrase. Check your Ubuntu client to go to your SSID first.