parabolic refelctors for noobs

hi

i have been reading the above post for what seems like a day,

im new to this and would like to improve my home wireless setup.

my 54mps LINKSYS 2.4G router is in my office in the loft, but the signal is poor at the groundfloor / downstairs in the family room, 11-15mps

i also have a laptop with a wireless pmcica card that will pick up 24mps on the same groundfloor but its almost directly under the router {all be it 3 floors up}

will one of these home made antennas inprove this

thanks

E
Reply to
EZEKIEL
Loading thread data ...

"EZEKIEL" hath wroth:

What post? There's nothing above my monitor.

You've come to the right place.

Is there some reason you don't find it necessary to disclose the model number of your Linksys wireless router? Also include the hardwave version number on the label.

Signal strength is not measured in mps. That's the connection speed. Your radios start out at 54Mbits/sec and then slow down until they find a speed where the error rate is deemed adequate. The slowdown can be due to lack of signal, but also from interference. If you're down to 12 Mbit/sec connection speed, you still will get about

6Mbits/sec thruput, which should be adequate for most DSL and some cable modem connections.

Maker and model number of laptop and wireless card?

I'm rather suprised that it works at all vertically through 3 floors. Try pointing one of your antennas horizontally and see if the signal improves down below. With the antennas pointing vertically, the antenna pattern is mostly in the horizontal plane.