No one answered my question?

I can get connected and have a 192... IP address using IPconfig/all but I can't ping anything therefore I'm not "really" connected. I'm using a Linksys WRT54G Router and Gigabyte desktop wlan pci lan cards in the workstation. It sees the SSID fine and gets a 24 to 36mbps connection but doesn't connect to the Internet nor can I ping anything. What am I missing? I'm sure it's something I missed as I'm just getting started with wireless connectivity. Any help from you Gurus would be appreciated. Thanks

Reply to
mcguirem3m
Loading thread data ...

Not being familiar with using the Newsgroup, I meant to refer back to the question theme on 3/23 on "Connected but not really" I didn't see any conclusions there only what MS should do to change it to "Ready" instead of just connected.

Reply to
mcguirem3m

"mcguirem3m" wrote in news:tRdPh.12308$ snipped-for-privacy@bignews4.bellsouth.net:

What are you trying to ping ? How are you configuring the access point ?

Reply to
DanS

I went through the 'setup' that comes with Linksys and entered the data it ask for regarding SSID , the Login ID/PW for the DSL and then the Passphrase. That's all that it ask me to do. I can access the internet on the machine that is directly connected to the router with an ethernet cable but not through the workstation downstairs that has a Gigabyte Turbo 802.11 g/b wireless lan card. It detects the router just fine with the right SSID and ask for the passphrase and I carefully enter that and it gets connected at 24 to 36 mbps. But I try to ping "anything" Amazon, an address and if I type it in wrong it says I have the wrong name but with an IP address it comes back as with all tries and returns 4 tries with no returns after 4 attempts. Does that help?

Reply to
mcguirem3m

Reply to
mcguirem3m