Newr versions-Lower specs-Why is that?

Hi All

I'm looking to buy a used Linksys router (WRT54GS) but looking at the table below from wiki, the newer the version, the less impressive the specs look. Am I missing something here! Usually in the pc market the later hardware versions usually up the specs!

*As I'm new to wireless could someone please inform me of why that is?...(is it a case of flash and ram memory overkill, and unnecessary!) *Also important, what in your opinion is the version to go with for my use. It would be a great help for my limited knowledge as this info has thrown a spanner int the works for me. I usually would have got the latest version but now I'm unsure of what Ver to go for.

T.I.A.

(Intended network)...4 bed semi.

2X Desktop PC's upstairs 1X Desktop PC downstairs (Kids...optional) 1X Laptop roaming File sharing/Printer/music & video streaming.

(Pasted from)

formatting link