Newbie wants to set up wireless

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty good with computers generally, but I'm a total newbie when it comes to setting up a wireless network.

Here's what's going on:

I have Verizon DSL. The modem they gave me is several years old, and only supports a very old (and apparently totally unreliable) form of encryption/security.

What I want to do is replace this old DSL modem with a new one that supports the newest encryption/security measures (I know someone whose wireless network was hacked into, they did some really bad stuff, so I'm kinda paranoid).

I have my desktop hooked up to the modem and would like to have it also be wireless so I can use the internet on my laptop throughout my apartment.

Does anyone recommend a particular modem? If I want the newest form of wireless security, do I have to worry about any compatibility issues (my laptop is about 2.5 years old)? I'd appreciate any feedback.

ps. I feel embarrassed asking this question- but is a DSL router simply the same thing as a DSL modem?

Thanks!!

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
johnnypod
Loading thread data ...

ZyXel makes several excellent products. Embarq uses them, in other words telcos want a low maintenance product.

ZyXel website for DSL customer side products.

formatting link
P660M is your basic DSL modem with an embedded router. P660H is DSL modem with an embedded router and 4 port hub. P660HW is the P660H with wireless G.

Yes and no.

No - A DSL modem is only a device that that converts the analog DSL signal to ethernet. A router creates additional network addresses.

Yes - Almost all customer sided DSL modems have an embedded router. Some have a built in hub, others need to be connected to a separate hub.

Reply to
DTC

johnnypod hath wroth:

Any particular maker and model DSL modem? As I recall, Verizon was using Westel DSL modems.