New to wireless questions

After 15 years of 2-3 kbs download speeds we finally have the option of getting cable internet through Charter in St. Louis and instead of renting the modem and router for $10 a month I would like to purchase my own but I'm new to this equipment and looking for any suggestions.

I checked on Newegg and I think the Linksys WRT54GL router along with the D-link DCM 202 modem will do the trick but not sure? I plan to have my computer as the main and the wife and daughters pickup through a network card and not sure which network card to choose from. Also if it makes any difference on the equipment I would like to play around with the DirecTV on demand feature sometime in the future.

My system consist of a Asus P3B-F MB, Intel slot 1 P3 1gig CPU, 512 MB PC

133 SDRAM, Win XP

Any input would greatly be appreciated.

Rick

Reply to
rick
Loading thread data ...

Check with Charter for a list of acceptable modems; some ISPs have a list of modems known to work with their service.

Reply to
William Andersen

Connect all 3 PCs directly to the Linksys router, since that is more robust and easier to manage than using your PC as a router; as a side benefit, you won't need a second NIC on your PC. And, using wired connections to the router is a bit faster and a lot more secure; if you use wireless, then use the strongest encryption that that (or those) PCs support.

Reply to
Bob Willard

Is it common for ISPs to rent the modems? I know it's part of the bill one way or another but I don't know that my cable company would lower my bill if I had my own modem. Mike

Reply to
amdx

Buy your own gear. Pick 'em up used off fleabay to save money.

It's never a bargain to rent anything this basic from a carrier. Something more complex, like a DVR, might be but even that has room for debate.

Reply to
Bill Kearney