Netstumbler Questions

Just started using Netstumbler on a Alfa Realtek 8187L.

Get nothing in the IP address field nor the "Name" field,does that mean my radio is not compatible in some fashion?

Pardon my ignorance, but I am new to this. There are two headings SNR+ and SNR. What's the diff?

I see that the lower the lower the SNR dbM reading on the graph the stronger the signal, correct? All the Noise readings are -100 ; I am guessing that means I have a weak reception everywhere? The SNR varies from 17 to 46 depending on the MAC, but there does not seem to be much of a direct relationship between this reading and throughput, why?

Also is there any url to look up the various flags? How do I tell which if any APs are interfering with the one I am connected to?

Sorry for so many questions, any assistance welcomed, thanks.

Reply to
public_varies
Loading thread data ...

"public_varies" wrote in message news: snipped-for-privacy@tioat.net...

Use inSSIDer:

formatting link
Not only does it work better and provide useful information including a time graph, the author updates it way more than never.

Reply to
Seemore Grey

I agree with inSSIDer too.

It found and used the built in wireless adapter of my Lenov laptop while Netstumbler refused to admit my laptop even had a wireless option.

I use it to troubleshoot wireless problems caused by other systems on the same or adjacent channels and to locate idle channels when installing new systems.

Then again it is fun to look around to see who is dumb enough to not turn on any form of encryption...

Reply to
GlowingBlueMist

I accidentally left inSSIDer running when I recently ran an errand. I had to drive past houses, apartment complexes, and some businesses during the 5 mile round trip. When I got home, I discovered over 800 SSIDs listed so for me the fun was scrolling through the list to see the funny, outrageous, profane, and creative names people had given their networks.

Reply to
Char Jackson