NetBSD i386 wireless - what's needed?

Greetings, and apologies for the multi-post;

We are running NetBSD 3.1 on i386 architecture and wish to join our LAN with a wireless ISP using 2.4GHz 802.11b/g.

We'd like to use an antenna such as

formatting link
due to the 24dBi gain which we feel would help us during adverse weather conditions.

What hardware is needed to drive the signal please? Does NetBSD 3.1 provide drivers for any wireless card, or should we shop for a specific model(s) of card so that available NetBSD drivers will work? What (and where) are the drivers for such cards, anyway?

The ISP states that access is provided based on MAC address, so I assume we'll need a wireless card with external antenna capabilities. Is anything more required between the card and the antenna?

Thank you for any help or suggestions you might provide. Obviously I'm new to wireless and am hoping to learn.

Reply to
patrick
Loading thread data ...

Generally speaking, FreeBSD, OpenBSD and Linux have great support for

802.11. There are drivers which are actively supported as Kernel modules and in case of FreeBSD there is Kernel support itself. You might port any of these drivers to NetBSD, i.e. if somebody hasn't already done it.

This question is probly best addressed on NetBSD groups.

FWITW - the drivers are:

# hostap # madwifi

One issue you'd face is the hardware you'd put on the NetBSD box. Do you have provision for incorporating a PCMCIA card or miniPCI. You should buy hardware (pay attention to chip-set) which is supported by those drivers.

The other approach you can take is to setup a wireless bridge that basically builds the wifi link and transfers traffic to the NetBSD box. This is probably a more secure option also, as you can secure the wireless link w. VPN or atleast a firewall.

For the 802.11 bridge approach, consider using:

formatting link

as

formatting link
to

For an ultra-light antenna, weather tollerant, high-gain parabolic, there's a good solution: