Need some Security Assistance

I am brand new to wireless networking and want to make my small home Wireless LAN as secure as I can from outside users.

I have one desktop PC directly connected via Ethernet to my Netgear Wireless Router and 2 laptops connecting to my Wireless Router via Wireless cards.

I have Changed the default SSID, enabled WEP with a strong password, and enabled MAC Address filtering (although from what I have read that is somewhat of a waste of time!.

What else should I do to prevent unauthorize access?

P.S. The router I have does NOT support WPA

Reply to
DW
Loading thread data ...

1) Get a router that supports WPA it's better than WEP.. 2) Get an all wire router and start dragging cable. 3) Look at a PowerLine router solution and use that.

Duane :)

Reply to
Duane Arnold

Just to point out that there's no such thing as a strong WEP password. Doesn't matter what you drop in as the passphrase, the output is a key which is inherently weak.

MAC filtering has no security value as MAC addresses are broadcast, sniffable and spoofable in under a minute.

David.

Reply to
David Taylor