need some more help using Linksys wireless router as access point

Good evening!

I posted last month about trying to use my Linksys router as an access point. I was directed to

formatting link
which gives the following instructions:

Set IP address (manually)

--In the same address range as your other devices

--That doesn't conflict with any other device (e.g., router) Disable internal DHCP server. Connect (Ethernet) cable to LAN port, not WAN/Internet port.

--Nothing connected to WAN/Internet port.

--May need to use crossover type cable. Disable any wireless-to-wired isolation feature

Maybe it's just too late at night, but how do I get into the old wireless router. Do I plug it into one of the CAT5 outlets in the house, and let it register and log into it using the IP? or do I directly connect it to a PC and somehow get into it that way.

sorry to be asking such as obvious question, but I'm a programmer and hardware is just not my gig.

Thanks for any help, Kathryn

Reply to
kbutterly
Loading thread data ...

kbutterly hath wroth:

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawn!

Did you scribble down the IP address of the router when you set the IP address? If so, just point your browser to that IP address as in: http://192.168.1.1 If that fails, try: http://192.168.1.1/Don't ask me why that works. If you're just starting, Linksys usually uses 192.168.1.1 as the default IP address for the router. Point your browser at that IP address.

Connect a standard CAT5 cable directly from the ethernet port on your PC, to one of the 4 LAN ports on your unspecified model Linksys wireless router. Never mind any other wiring you have scattered around the house.

Once you set the IP address manually on the router, and disable the DHCP server in the router, your computer will not longer be able to get a DHCP assigned IP address. Therefore, you must also manually assign the IP address of the computer.

Sigh. Think of it as a plastic box with software inside.

Reply to
Jeff Liebermann